Three Tips on Landing Your Dream Internship

By Megan Yoder
megankyoder@gmail.com

When it comes to landing a dream internship, most people think what they want is not within reach. Some feel they don’t have the skills needed or don’t fully understand the industry that they want to pursue. During my sophomore year, I knew that I wanted to gain experience in how to train marine mammals. Sounds crazy, right? Well, after numerous resumes, cover letters and interviews, I finally landed my dream internship working with marine mammals at Sea Life Park Hawaii.

My experience working with marine life was not only a dream come true, but gave me a strong skill set that was able to transfer over to my pursuit of public relations. I learned many skills that helped to prepare me for this industry, including: ways to be an effective communicator within a large team, how to produce and run a marine show with large audiences, how to multitask and prioritize, and lastly, that communication must always be clear and concise.

While your dream internship may seem out of reach, here are three tips to make your dreams a reality.

Do your research
Prior to applying to positions dealing with marine life, I spent countless hours researching to learn about each prospective employer’s culture, work environment and expectations of their interns. Understanding the specifics behind the industry allows you to gain insights about the position and helps you to discover if the field is right for you.

Know what it takes to achieve success
Sounds simple, right? Unfortunately, many students don’t follow this pattern and are then discouraged when they don’t land their dream internship. In wanting to work with marine life, I discovered that experience working with animals and excellent communication skills are crucial. To achieve my goal, I constantly volunteered at the local animal shelter and took many communication courses.

Network
I will say it again, Network! Connections are essential in landing your dream internship. I spent a lot of time networking with marine mammal trainers and experienced interns in order to understand the field. Having these connections became extremely advantageous for me, as they gave me insights into the application process, interview tips and, ultimately, helped me land the position I wanted.

No matter what industry you decide to pursue, these tips can help you to achieve your goals to make your dream internship a reality.

Follow Megan Yoder on Twitter @MeganKYoder

Leave a Reply

